Friday, 7 September 2012

UCC Conferment of Honorary Degrees

UCC Conferment of Honorary Degrees
Devere Hall, UCC, 7th September 2012.
Clockwise from top left: Denis Irwin*, John A. Murphy, Trevor Welch, Brian Cody*, Aidan O'Brien*, Tracy Piggott, Donal Lenihan, Ronan O'Gara* and Mary O'Connor

Pictured above are the leading sportspeople* conferred with Honorary Degrees at UCC today as part of the celebration of 100 years of sport at the college. Also included are the people who introduced them. In a departure from the usual pomp and ceremony, UCC veteran John A Murphy sang a few verses of the Banks of my own lovely Lee. Mr Michael B. Murphy, the UCC President, indicated that the next such ceremony will be held in 2112. That rules out a lot of you.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.